Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Member List  Search  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

 

RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting through!!

 
Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Web & Mail Security] >> GFI MailEssentials >> RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting through!! Page: <<   < prev  1 2 3 [4]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting thro... - 13.Dec.2006 11:39:10 AM   
gonzo99

 

Posts: 90
Joined: 22.Jun.2006
Status: offline
Hehe....our policy is to delete. <grin>

Yeah, I believe these DNSBL entries are supporting this opinion. Just half an hour ago I activated DNSBL with these 3 entries. Until now it filtered 4 mails out, 2 of them were orders from our clients....using mail domains where I am really in doubt that they are well-known for spamming.
I think I will have a sharp eye on this "feature" during the next days and if this will filter out more of this kind I will switch it off....

Uwe

(in reply to RSP)
Post #: 46
RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting thro... - 13.Dec.2006 2:47:07 PM   
SteveTGM

 

Posts: 16
Joined: 3.Aug.2006
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: RSP

I notice that GFI are "recommending" dnsbl.sorbs.net as a blacklist to check but not explaining why it's recommended, therefore:

Please review very carefully the types of hosts that sorbs.net block in the DNS Zones area of this page before enabling it; you may find, as I have done, that many legitimate emails are blocked because of their listing policies.

If you can afford to have legitimate emails blocked (our policy is to delete...), then go ahead, it'll stop lots!


I've just had an incident today where sorbs.net blocked e-mails from one of our clients.

(in reply to RSP)
Post #: 47
RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting thro... - 14.Dec.2006 2:56:46 AM   
gonzo99

 

Posts: 90
Joined: 22.Jun.2006
Status: offline
After 10 hours of running DNSBL I have just disabled it.
Over the night it filtered out about 70 mails, 10 of them were orders and informations from our clients. Most of them have a mail address at t-online.de, the greatest german online provider.
I do not know who feeds those BL's, but they are not worth the money they got paid....putting such a domain on a BL is a mail inhibitor for the users of it.

Uwe

(in reply to SteveTGM)
Post #: 48
RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting thro... - 14.Dec.2006 4:50:18 AM   
RSP

 

Posts: 1447
Joined: 31.Oct.2006
From: The East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Status: offline
For info, the entire BT network of supposed dynamic addresses was blocked for about 3 weeks earlier in the year. This range happened to include one of my customer's static addresses, which is my main reason for not using them; the response I got from them was less than sympathetic.

(in reply to gonzo99)
Post #: 49
RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting thro... - 14.Dec.2006 4:12:55 PM   
Bill Roland

 

Posts: 155
Joined: 19.Mar.2004
From: Ocala, FL
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: RSP

For info, the entire BT network of supposed dynamic addresses was blocked for about 3 weeks earlier in the year. This range happened to include one of my customer's static addresses, which is my main reason for not using them; the response I got from them was less than sympathetic.
Happened here to me earlier this year with SORBS, they just one day decided to block a swath of static IP netblock that I was on.  They claimed it was dynamic, I claimed it was static.  I got the ISP involved (Cox Business Services, not a mom and pop ISP), SORBS completely ignored them, and after a month they mysteriously responded to my ticket and delisted the netblock.  They never did respond to the ISP ticket.  They are a pain in the butt and far too many false positives.  You are guilty until they decide, in their infinite wisdom, that you are innocent. 

(in reply to RSP)
Post #: 50
RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting thro... - 15.Dec.2006 9:28:01 AM   
Mark Busuttil

 

Posts: 4836
Joined: 16.Oct.2005
Status: offline

Hi,

You should remember that not all DNS Blacklists are suitable for all types of organisations. Some DNS blacklists may be too restrictive, while others may target open relays in a particular area of the world. Selecting the correct DNSBL for your organisation may require some testing from your side.

You should also make use of the Whitelist functionality in MailEssentials. This tends to minimise the ammount of false positives also. It will also allow you to use the more restrictive DNS Blacklists (and also other features in MailEssentials). However this can only be done if you do not receive a lot of emails from people who you did not send any emails previously.
Thank You


_____________________________

Regards,
Mark Busuttil

GFI Software Ltd - www.gfi.com
Messaging, Content Security & Network Security Software
GFI: MailEssentials - MailSecurity - MailArchiver - FAXmaker - LANguard – WebMonitor

(in reply to Bill Roland)
Post #: 51
Page:   <<   < prev  1 2 3 [4]
All Forums >> [Web & Mail Security] >> GFI MailEssentials >> RE: viagra spam (and others like it) still getting through!! Page: <<   < prev  1 2 3 [4]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts