joestern
Posts: 236
Joined: 18.Sep.2003
From: Philadelphia, PA
Status: offline
|
A user I support is an officer in an industry association. The e-mails sent on behalf of this association are getting blocked by SPF. It appears that MailEssentials is looking up the SPF record for the Return_Path address in the e-mail header and not the SMTP from address. This seems odd to me. Here's the log entry for a blocked message: quote:
"09/03/08 11:58:43","SPF","sendstudio_bounces@synergynews.info","jdoe@mycorp.com","The 2008 Institute Meeting: General Session Highlights","Moved to V:\SPFdump\sendstudio_bounces@synergynews.info_jdoe@mycorp.com_The 2008 Institute Meeting_ General Session Highlights_0495A4C2.eml","Sender is probably forged (SPF Softfail)" Here's the header for the e-mail in question: quote:
Received: from merak.synnethosting.com ([65.182.190.25]) by INS03.mycorp.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Wed, 3 Sep 2008 11:58:42 -0400 Received: from LISTSERV ([65.182.190.45]) by merak.synnethosting.com (SynNet Hosting SMTP v2.0) with SMTP id JYJ25040 for <jdoe@mycorp.com>; Wed, 03 Sep 2008 10:58:40 -0500 Subject: =?UTF-8?B?VGhlIDIwMDggUE1SRyBJbnN0aXR1dGUgTWVldGluZzogR2VuZXJhbCBTZXNzaW9uIEhpZ2hsaWdodHM=?= To: jdoe@mycorp.com Message-ID: <74bb142f3499fcb0cbe06d824d730901@sendstudio.synnethosting.com> Return-Path: sendstudio_bounces@synergynews.info Date: Wed, 03 Sep 2008 11:05:34 -0500 From: "=?UTF-8?B?UE1SRw==?=" <info@pmrg.org> Reply-To: info@pmrg.org Notwithstanding the SPF issues, which I'll deal with separately, why does MailEssentials see this message as being "from" sendstudio_bounces@synergynews.info and not info@pmrg.org? Is there something wrong with this e-mail header? Or does MailEssentials always use the return_path to identify a message's sender? Thanks for your help solving this problem. - Joe Philadelphia PA
|